Black-and-white 35mm negatives taken by Wallie V. Funk, from a 1966 capture of orcas whales in Penn Cove. Note accompanying negatives, "Pix of people at scene - Ted Griffin, boat skipper etc., early 1966".
Built under Public Works Administration and Federal Works Agency programs of the New Deal in the Art Deco style. Begun in 1938, it was dedicated on January 4, 1940. Two stories with ten two story windows across the front it has three entrance doors in the center front.
At least two long, low buildings, probably canneries, are on shore beyond the dock and several smaller buildings and houses are visible as well. One taller building stands out above the rest, probably a school. Snow covered mountains are in the background; to the left a sweep of forest. This is Petersburg, Alaska; see photos gb3596, gb3598.
Situated at the narrow passage between the town and the forest (see photo gb3602) with snow-capped mountains in the background. Three fishing boats, one named Sun Light, and a barge and pile driver are docked. The wooden building, on a pier, is two stories with two rows of windows on the side; a second building is perpendicular to the first, has an open front held up by regularly spaced poles. A man and a car are visible at the end of the pier in front of the first building
In the immediate foreground is a craftsman house that is extant at 1912 Mill. Harris and 21st Street intersect beyond it where there is a low building that may be the store that is still there. In the middle ground, 22nd Street is visible going up theh hill crossing what is now the Interurban Trail. Beyond Harris is probably Donovan that runs far to the east, crossing what is I-5 today. It is open field where the Parkway Chateau and Mt. Baker Nursing Home are today. Chuckanut Mountain and other hills are visible in the background.
Caption on front of negative in ink: "St. Luke's Hospital." Four story brick building with two story wing located at the corner of Jersey Street and Chestnut. Two Model-A (?) autos are parked on the street in the foreground. Founded in 1892, the original St. Luke's was located at Forest and Holly at the Grand Central Hotel site. It was run under the auspices of the Diocese of the Episcopal Church of Western Washington and fostered by St. Paul's Episcopal Church until 1899 when it was turned over to the Methodist-Episcopal Church. In 1895 St Luke's moved into its own building at Jersey and Chestnut Streets. In 1989 St. Joseph Hospital had acquired St. Luke's and merged the two hospitals so there no longer was a choice in Bellingham between a Catholic and Protestant hospital.
A few small boathouses are on the water side of the street; several houses line the other side of the street. A 1930's car is visble coming to the street from a side street. The forested land across from the town is visible on the left, jutting out in the water with Frederick Sound beyond.
Looking beyond is a street going up a hill that probably is 15th St. on South Hill; several prominent Fairhaven buildings could be Wardner Castle, Sacred Heart Church, the Carnegie Library; however the photo may be reversed since the locations of these buildings does not seem quite correct, or this may be an entirely different place.
Looking west from Samish Hill at the east end of what is probably Donovan Avenue that runs in a straight line down the hill and eventually to Fairhaven and the Bay. To the right in the middle ground is South Hill; in the foreground a large stand of evergreen trees beyond which is a sparsely settled Happy Valley with open fields until closer to Fairhaven.