Front caption: "Opening a Tunnel in a Skagit County Mine." Notes on the back: "In the mine. A hard climb but look at the view from the mine." "2 1/2 inches wide make miner man in mine show as much as possible. Burt."
Captain George Vancouver was the first European to identify the area near Whidbey Island as a passage, which he named "Deception Pass." A 1925 act of Congress designated the property for public recreation purposes. In the 1930s, the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) built roads, trails, buildings and bridges to develop the park. Construction of the Deception Pass Bridge began in August 1934 and was completed on July 31, 1935. The bridge has two spans. Over Canoe Pass to the north and Deception Pass to the south.