The white buildings on the left, at the shoreline, belonged to the Carlisle Canning Company. Barely visible on the far right are the booms and dolphins of the Puget Sound Mills and Timber Co. The elevated road in the foreground is MacKenzie Street. Note the two houses in the far right-hand, bottom corner: they are two of the three white houses in the lower, right-hand quarter of GB1190
View from pier of three-story building under construction behind scaffolding with piles of split logs in foreground. Building under construction is the Bellingham Opera House. The logs in foreground are those used for steamship fuel.
The photograph was taken prior to 1891 when the Fairhaven Hotel was constructed. The estuary was filled in by Pacific American Fisheries when they removed the hill from which the photograph was taken. This image may be the right third of a triptych with GB1194 being the left third.
Note the three white houses in the lower, right-hand quarter: The two on the left are the same as those in the extreme lower, right-hand corner of GB 1188. The elevated street behind these houses is MacKenzie. The houses lining Eldridge Avenue are blurry, but visible across the bay.