Included with Image: Miller Hall -- Pictured here is a view of the new Miller Hall from across the brick-floored quadrangle on the Western Washington State College campus. The tiled-roof portion at the left is a part of the former Campus School building at the college. At right are Fisher Fountain and a corner of Bond Hall. The new building was named in memory of Dr. Irving Elgar Miller, who was chairman of the education and psycology department at the Bellingham institution for 25 years. Public Information Office. Original Inventory Number: 19690801d (#1351.8b)
Written on image verso: Between 1906 (when the fountain was given to the college by the graduating class) and 1909 (when the boardwalk to Old Main was removed). Original Inventory Number: 0845.05. Multiple Copies Available
Negative available #680301-3. In 1962 two new wings were added to the building, increasing the library capacity by 50%. The new wings were designed by architect Paul Thiry, the original building was designed by Bebb & Gould. The library was named for Mabel Zoe Wilson, the first professional librarian, in 1964. Also featured in the foreground is Rain Forest fountain (1959) by James Fitzgerald.